British squad named for Track Worlds

British Cycling has named a squad of 17 for the 2014 World Track Cycling Championships, which begin in Colombia in late February.

Five of Britain’s five gold medallists from last year’s championships, including Laura Trott, Becky James and Jason Kenny, will defend their titles.

Dani King and Elinor Barker will also team up with Trott in the team pursuit.

“We can go into the World Championships with confidence,” said performance director Sir Dave Brailsford.

Great Britain medals at 2013 World Track Championships

Gold: Laura Trott, Dani King and Elinor Barker

(team pursuit);
Jason Kenny

Simon Yates

(points race);
Becky James

(sprint and keirin gold)

Silver: Steven Burke, Ed Clancy, Andy Tennant, Sam Harrison

(Team pursuit);
Laura Trott



Becky James and Vicky Williamson

(team sprint);
Becky James

(500m time trial)

Total: Golds: 5 Silver: 2 Bronze: 2

Britain claimed a total of nine medals, including five golds, across the team and individual events in Minsk last year.

James became the first Briton to win four medals at a single World Championships when the Welsh rider, now 22, claimed gold in the keirin.

Simon Yates does not defend his points race gold medal, while Katie Archibald makes her World Championship debut.

Brailsford sees the championships, which will be held in Cali from 26 February to 2 March, as important milestone in preparations for the Rio Olympics in 2016.

“I’m pleased with the results we’ve had at World Cup level this season, both from the established riders and the younger ones breaking through,” Brailsford added.

“With qualification for Rio 2016 expected to begin this year, this World Championships will allow us to lay down a marker to see where we are at against the best in the world and assess what work needs to be done.”

British squad:

Men’s Sprint – Matt Crampton, Kian Emadi, Phil Hindes, Jason Kenny.

Women’s Sprint – Becky James, Jess Varnish, Vicky Williamson.

Men’s Endurance – Steven Burke, Ed Clancy, Jon Dibben, Owain Doull, Sam Harrison.

Women’s Endurance – Katie Archibald, Elinor Barker, Dani King, Joanna Rowsell, Laura Trott.

Article source:

Comments are closed.

Johnny’s favourite stores