Cavendish & Deignan to race at National Road Championships

Lizzie Deignan

Lizzie Deignan (middle) won the 2013 national road race ahead of Laura Kenny (left) and Dani King

Former world champions Mark Cavendish and Lizzie Deignan will race in the National Road Championships in June, British Cycling has announced.

Manxman Cavendish won the road race title in 2013, while Adam Blythe will be looking to defend his crown.

Deignan will aim to win her fourth national road race title, with Olympic gold medallist Dani King challenging.

The men’s and women’s time trials take place on the Isle of Man on 22 June, followed by the road race on 25 June.

Cavendish has not raced since March after being diagnosed with a virus which causes glandular fever.

He is one of four Manx cyclists who will be competing on home soil including two-time double British road race champion Peter Kennaugh and Anna Christian.

Alex Dowsett will attempt a record sixth British title in the men’s time trial, while Hayley Simmonds will go for her third consecutive title in the women’s time trial.

Director of cycling Jonny Clay said: “The calibre of the riders who will be taking to the start line speaks volumes for both the health of road racing in Great Britain and the draw of a championships taking place in such an iconic venue which is synonymous with our sport.”


Isle of Man cyclist Peter Kennaugh won the British road race title in 2014 and 2015

Men’s road race squad (193.7km):

Mark Cavendish, Peter Kennaugh, Adam Blythe, Jonathan Dibben, Owain Doull, Luke Rowe, Ian Stannard, Tao Geoghegan Hart, Scott Thwaites, Andrew Fenn, Ben Swift.

Men’s time trial squad (44.4km):

Alex Dowsett, James Gullen, Ryan Perry, Sam Harrison, Owain Doull, Ian Stannard.

Women’s road race squad (103.73km):

Lizzie Deignan, Dani King, Hannah Barnes, Alice Barnes, Anna Christian.

Women’s time trial squad (22.2km):

Hayley Simmonds, Elinor Barker, Katie Archibald, Hannah Barnes.

Article source:

Comments are closed.

Johnny’s favourite stores