Contador wins 2014 best rider title

Spain’s Alberto Contador has won the 2014 Velo d’Or, cycling’s rider of the year award.

The Tinkoff-Saxo rider, 31, succeeded Britain’s 2013 Tour De France winner, Chris Froome.

Contador recovered from a leg fracture, which saw him

retire from this year’s Tour De France,

to win his third

Vuelta a Espana.

It was his sixth Grand Tour title, having also won 2007 and 2009’s Tour De France, plus the Giro d’Italia in 2008.

The awards are organised by French cycling magazine, Velo.

Britain’s Bradley Wiggins won the ‘Golden Bicycle’ in 2012 – and Contador himself took the award in three consecutive years from 2007 to 2009.

Contador was stripped of his 2010 Tour De France and 2011 Giro d’Italia victories after

testing positive

for banned substance clenbuterol.

Article source:

Comments are closed.

Johnny’s favourite stores