Evans retains Giro leader’s jersey

Australian Cadel Evans retained the Giro d’Italia leader’s pink jersey as Nacer Bouhanni claimed his third stage win.

FDJ’s French rider, Bouhanni, 23, added the 10th stage victory to strengthen his hold on the points classification red jersey.

What to expect on Wednesday’s stage 11

“When I was looking through the book, this longest stage of the race sprung out at me.

“It’s interesting because the next stage is an individual time trial, which is a massively important for the general classification riders so they are going to be conserving energy for that and thus their teams are not going to do much chasing.

“That makes it a good be a good day for the breakaway. My sporting director has told me it is a tough climb near the end so it would be at the top end of what I’m capable of getting over.”

BMC leader Evans, 37, finished in ninth to take a 57-second advantage over Rigoberto Uran in second place.

Britain’s Ben Swift finished the stage in eighth for Team Sky.

Bouhanni had earlier won

stages four



his first Grand Tour wins, and sprinted to another impressive triumph in the 173-kilometre stage from Modena to Salso Maggiore.

The technical finish was a challenge for the peloton, with Garmin-Sharp’s Tyler Farrar crashing in the closing stages and splitting the bunch, as Bouhanni won ahead of Trek rider Giacomo Nizzolo and Orica-GreenEdge’s Michael Matthews.

Team Sky were to the fore in the closing stages in a bid to shake off Bouhanni which came to nothing.

Wednesday’s 11th stage is the 249km medium mountains route from Collecchio to Savona.

Stage 10:

1. Nacer Bouhanni (Fra/FDJ) 4hrs 01min 13secs

2. Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita/Trek) ST

3. Michael Matthews (Aus/Orica) ST

4. Roberto Ferrari (Ita/Lampre) ST

5. Enrico Battaglin (Ita/Bardiani Valvole) ST

6. Vladimir Gusev (Rus/Katusha) ST

7. Albert Timmer (Ned/Giant-Shimano) ST

8. Ben Swift (GB/Sky) ST

9. Cadel Evans (Aus/BMC) ST

10. Mauro Finetto (Ita/Neri Sottoli – Yellow Fluo) ST

Overall standings:

1. Cadel Evans (Aus/BMC) 42hrs 50mins 47secs

2. Rigoberto Uran (Col/Omega) + 57secs

3. Rafal Majka (Pol/Tinkoff) + 01min 10secs

4. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita/AG2R) +01min 20secs

5. Steve Morabito (Sui/BMC) + 01min 31secs

6. Fabio Aru (Ita/Astana) + 01min 39secs.

7. Diego Ulissi (Ita/Lampre) + 01min 43secs

8. Wilco Kelderman (Ndl/Belkin) + 01min 44secs

9. Nairo Quintana (Col/Movistar) + 01min 45secs

10. Robert Kiserlovski (Cro/Trek) + 01min 49secs

Article source: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/cycling/27494944

Comments are closed.

Johnny’s favourite stores