Ewan pulls out of Giro after stage 11 win

Caleb Ewan celebrates after winning stage

Caleb Ewan secured his second Giro stage win of the race – and third of his career

Australian Caleb Ewan has pulled out of the Giro d’Italia after winning his second stage of the race on Wednesday.

The Lotto-Soudal rider won stage 11 in a sprint finish ahead of Arnaud Demare and Pascal Ackermann to add to his victory on stage eight.

But the sprinter has now withdrawn with 10 days remaining to prepare for the Tour de France, which begins on 6 July.

“I think it makes sense that the sprinters leave the Giro prematurely,” Ewan said.

“From now on, there are virtually only tough stages left, so not very suited to us.

“I am happy that I came to the Giro. The succession of the long and sometimes challenging stages will have done me good, condition-wise.

“I came into the Giro and I really wanted to win one stage. To get two is more than I expected, so I am really satisfied with that.

“I will take some days of rest now and then go on a training camp to prepare for the Tour.”

Italian Valerio Conti remains in the leader’s pink jersey with a advantage of one minute 50 seconds over Primoz Roglic.

Britain’s Hugh Carthy is four minutes 36 seconds off the lead in 16th while compatriot Simon Yates is 24th, five minutes 36 seconds behind Conti.

Thursday’s 12th stage is the first day in the Alps with a hilly 158km ride from Cuneo to Pinerolo.

Stage 10 results

1. Caleb Ewan (Aus/Lotto-Soudal) 5hrs 17mins 26secs

2. Arnaud Demere (Fra/Groupama) Same time

3. Pascal Ackermann (Ger/Bora-Hansgrohe)

4. Elia Viviani (Ita/Deceuninck-Quick-Step)

5. Davide Cimolai (Ita/Israel Cycling Academy)

6. Simone Consonni (Ita/UAE Team Emirates)

7. Ryan Gibbons (SA/Dimension Data)

8. Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita/Dimension Data)

9. Jakub Mareczko (Ita/CCC Team)

10. Sean Bennett (US/EF Education First)

General classification after stage 10

1. Valerio Conti (It/UAE Team Emirates) 39hrs 44mins 39secs

2. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo) +1min 50secs

3. Nans Peters (Fr/AG2R La Mondiale) +2:21

4. Jose Joaquin Rojas (Sp/Movistar) +2:33

5. Fausto Masnada (Ita/Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec) +2:36

6. Andrey Amador (CR/Movistar) +2:39

7. Amaro Antunes (Por/CCC Team) +3:05

8. Valentin Madouas (Fra/Groupama-FDJ) +3:27

9. Giovanni Carboni (Ita/Bardiani-CSF) +3:30

10. Pello Bilbao (Spa/Astana Pro Team) +3:32

Selected others:

11. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita/NahrainMerida) +3.40

16. Hugh Carthy (GB/EF Education First) +4.36

24. Simon Yates (GB/Mitchelton-Scott) +5:36

31. Tao Geoghegan Hart (GB/Team Ineos) +6:58

Article source: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/cycling/48372560

Comments are closed.

Johnny’s favourite stores