Froome to lead British team in Spain


2013 Tour de France winner Chris Froome

will lead the British team in the Road World Championships in Spain.

Froome is joined in the men’s road race by Glasgow 2014 gold medallist Geraint Thomas, British champion Pete Kennaugh and Scotland’s David Millar.

Sir Bradley Wiggins will compete in Wednesday’s time trial, alongside

Commonwealth champion Alex Dowsett.

Lizzie Armitstead leads the six-strong women’s squad, which also includes two-time junior world champion Lucy Garner.

There is no entrant in the women’s time trial on Tuesday following

Emma Pooley’s retirement

because no-one is believed to have medal potential.

Millar is racing in a GB vest for the final time before retiring at the end of the season.

“Across the board, we have some real podium contenders,” said British Cycling technical director Shane Sutton.

The championships begin on Sunday.

Day-by-day guide and BBC coverage times

All times BST

Monday 22 September

Junior women’s time trial – start time 09:00 (Grace Garner and Mel Lowther)

Under-23 men’s time trial – start time 13:00 (Scott Davies and Jon Dibben)

Tuesday 23 September

Junior men’s time trial – start time 09:00 (Matt Gibson)

Women’s elite time trial – live on BBC Red Button from 13:30-16:05

Wednesday 24 September

Elite men’s time trial

– live on BBC Red Button from 12:30-16:20

Start time: 12:30pm (Alex Dowsett and Sir Bradley Wiggins)

Friday 26 September

Junior women’s road race – Start time 08:00 (Megan Barker, Grace Garner, Beth Hayward, Mel Lowther)

Under-23 men’s road race – start time 12:00 (Scott Davies, Owain Doull, Tao Geoghegan Hart, Dan McLay, Alex Peters)

Saturday 27 September

Junior men’s road race – start time 08:00 (Gabriel Cullaigh, Nathan Draper, Matt Gibson, James Shaw, Steve Williams)

Women’s elite road race – live on Red Button from 12:30-14:30 and BBC Two from 16:00-17:00 (17:00-18:00 in Northern Ireland)

Start time 13:00 (Lizzie Armitstead, Alice Barnes, Hannah Barnes, Anna Christian, Lucy Garner, Annie Last

Sunday 28 September

Men’s elite road race – live on Red Button from 09:00-15:35 and BBC Two from 13:30-16:00

Start time: 09:00 (Steve Cummings, Chris Froome, Pete Kennaugh, David Millar, Luke Rowe, Ben Swift, Geraint Thomas, Adam Yates, Simon Yates)

Article source:

Comments are closed.

Johnny’s favourite stores