Froome wins prestigious Velo d’Or


Tour de France champion

Chris Froome has won the prestigious Velo d’Or award as the best rider of 2013.

The Team Sky rider is the second Briton to be given the award in as many years after team-mate

Sir Bradley Wiggins

earned the accolade 12 months ago.

The award is decided by a poll of cycling journalists set up by France’s Velo Magazine.

Froome, 28,

won the Criterium du Dauphine


Tour de Romandie

in 2013 in addition to the Tour de France.

His team


“Congratulations to @chrisfroome for winning the 2013 Velo d’Or award!”

Colombia’s Nairo Quintana, the Tour runner-up as well as leading climber and best young rider, was voted prospect of the year.

Christophe Riblon – winner of the Alpe d’Huez stage at the Tour de France – won the Velo d’Or Francais as best French rider.

Article source:

Comments are closed.

Johnny’s favourite stores