Geoghegan Hart crashes out of Giro d’Italia as Zakarin wins stage 13

Tao Geoghegan Hart

Tao Geoghegan Hart finished second in the Tour of the Alps in April

Great Britain’s Tao Geoghegan Hart has abandoned the Giro d’Italia 2019 after crashing out in an eventful 13th stage won by Russian Ilnur Zakarin.

Geoghegan Hart, 24, featured in the day’s breakaway and crashed on the descent of the Colle del Lys.

Fellow Briton Simon Yates finished 17th as the 26-year-old lost ground in the overall standings topped by Jan Polanc.

Favourites Primoz Roglic and Vincenzo Nibali crossed the line together two minutes and 57 seconds behind Zakarin.

Geoghegan Hart, who finished second behind Team Ineos team-mate Pavel Sivakov in the Tour of the Alps, had already crashed twice during the first Grand Tour of the 2019 season.

Hart, who won two stages of last month’s Tour of the Alps, was joint leader of with Russian Sivakov in the absence of injured Colombian Egan Bernal.

“He is OK and our team doctor is with him,” said a Team Ineos spokesman.

Zakarin last won a stage at the Giro d’Italia in 2015 and the victory moved him up to third in the overall classification.

The 29-year-old made a telling attack inside the final two kilometres of a snow-capped summit finish to clinch victory ahead of second-placed Mikel Nieve with Mikel Landa in third.

“The last climb was really hard, I did not have a lot of strength left,” Zakarin said. “Now I can aim at a top five.”

Saturday’s 14th stage is a gruelling 131-km mountain trek from Saint Vincent to Courmayeur featuring five categorised climbs.


Great Britain’s Chris Froome – with the aid of sticky tape – was able to watch the stage during training

Stage 13 results

1. Ilnur Zakarin (Rus/Katusha-Alpecin) 5hrs 34mins 40secs

2. Mikel Nieve (Spa/Mitchelton-Scott) +35secs

3. Mikel Landa (Spa/Movistar) +1min 20secs

4. Richard Carapaz (Ecu/Movistar) +1min 38secs

5. Bauke Mollema (Ned/Trek-Segafredo) +1min 45secs

6. Rafal Majka (Pol/Bora-Hansgrohe) +2mins 07secs

7. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma) +2mins 57secs

8. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita/Bahrain-Merida) Same time

9. Pavel Sivakov (Rus/Ineos) +3mins 34secs

10. Davide Formolo (Ita/Bora-Hansgrohe) +3mins 50secs

General classification after stage 13

1. Jan Polanc (Slo/UAE Emirates) 54hrs 28mins 59secs

2. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma) +2mins 25secs

3. Ilnur Zakarin (Rus/Katusha-Alpecin) +2mins 56secs

4. Bauke Mollema (Ned/Trek-Segafredo) +3mins 06secs

5. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita/Bahrain-Merida) +4mins 09secs

6. Richard Carapaz (Ecu/Movistar) +4mins 22secs

7. Rafal Majka (Pol/Bora-Hansgrohe) +4mins 28secs

8. Mikel Landa (Spa/Movistar) +5mins 08secs

9. Pavel Sivakov (Rus/Ineos) +7mins 13secs

10. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col/Astana) +7mins 48secs

Article source:

Comments are closed.

Johnny’s favourite stores