Martin claims Tour of Lombardy win

Ireland’s Dan Martin claimed victory with an impressive sprint finish in the Tour of Lombardy one-day classic.

The Garmin-Sharp rider finished ahead of Spain’s Alejandro Valverde and Portugal’s Rui Costa.

Martin, 28, attacked with 450 metres to go and pulled away from the breakaway group to win by one second.

The Birmingham-born rider who

won Liege-Bastogne-Liege in 2013,

said: “I love the Tour of Lombardy and I’m proud to have it among my trophies.”

Martin, who

broke a collarbone after crashing

on the opening stage of the three-week Giro d’Italia, which was held in Ireland, in May, added: “It’s been a difficult year but this victory makes all my sacrifices worth it.”

He skipped the Tour de France but was


at last month’s third and final Grand Tour of the year, the Vuelta a Espana.

The Lombardy one-day race is the final of the five prestigious ‘Monuments’ that are raced each year across Europe –

the Milan-San Remo

in Italy,

Tour of Flanders



in Belgium and


in France are the other four.

The 108th staging of the Classic race, known as the ‘Race of the Falling Leaves’ because it takes place in autumn, has suffered from some horrendous weather in recent years but this time the skies were clear.

Dutchman Pieter Weening and Belgium’s Ben Hermans formed a two-man breakaway and built up a slender lead after navigating their way over the key climb of Berbenno.

But the duo were caught by the peloton five km from the finish as they made their way up the final climb of the Bergamo Alto.

A host of riders, including Belgium’s Philippe Gilbert who was aiming for a third Lombardy win, launched attacks on the road into Bergamo but they were all powerless to resist Martin’s late burst to the finish line.

Martin is the second Irish rider to win Lombardy, with Sean Kelly claiming three previous victories.

Race result:


Daniel Martin (Ire/Garmin) 6hrs 25mins 33secs


Alejandro Valverde (Spa/Movistar) +1 sec


Rui Costa (Por/Lampre) same time


Tim Wellens (Bel/Lotto)


Samuel Sanchez (Spa/BMC Racing)


Michael Albasini (Swi/Orica)


Philippe Gilbert (Bel/BMC Racing)


Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa/Katusha)


Fabio Aru (Ita/Astana)


Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita/AG2R) +14 secs

Article source:

Comments are closed.

Johnny’s favourite stores