Nibali wins first Giro di Lombardia

Italy’s Vincenzo Nibali won his first ‘monument’ with a breakaway victory in the 245km Giro di Lombardia.

The Astana rider broke clear on the descent of the Civiglio, the penultimate hill, to open up a 40-second lead with 10km remaining.

His advantage was cut to 11 seconds on the final climb by Daniel Moreno but Nibali again descended quicker to win in six hours 16 minutes 28 seconds.

Moreno was 21 seconds adrift, with Thibaut Pinot 32 seconds back in third.

Nibali’s victory in the fifth and final monument of the season – Milan-San Remo, the Tour of Flanders, Paris-Roubaix and Liege-Bastogne-Liege are the other four – is also the first by an Italian since Damiano Cunego won the Giro di Lombardia in 2008.

The 109th edition of the race, nicknamed ‘the race of the falling leaves’ because it takes place in autumn, is considered a climbers’ classic because of the hilly terrain around Lake Como.

Nibali, who won the 2014 Tour de France, made his first attack on the ascent of the Civiglio.

Although he was quickly reeled in, he put time into his rivals with his brilliant descending and cruised over the finish line in Como to the delight of the home fans.

Giro di Lombardia result:

1. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita/Astana) 6hrs 16mins 28secs

2. Daniel Moreno (Spa/Katusha) +21secs

3. Thibaut Pinot (Fra/ +32secs

4. Alejandro Valverde (Spa/Movistar) +46secs

5. Diego Rosa (Ita/Astana) Same time

Article source:

Comments are closed.

Johnny’s favourite stores