Rogers grabs Giro d’Italia stage win

Australian Michael Rogers claimed victory in the 11th stage of the Giro d’Italia but fellow countryman Cadel Evans retained the overall lead.

Rogers seized the win with a downhill attack that began with 20km remaining of the 249km Collecchio to Savona leg.

What to expect on Thursday’s stage 12

“I use it as another, I wouldn’t call it a rest day, mentally chilled day.

“You’ve got to go pretty hard to make the time limit (riders are thrown out of the race if they finish too far behind the winner’s time on each stage).

“I won’t be going 100% because I have other ambitions but the general classification and time trial specialists will go 100%.

“It’s going to be hard because it is straight uphill for the first 12km and then uphill at the end. Expect a big shake-up among the race leaders.”

His victory came just weeks after being

cleared of a drug violation

after eating contaminated meat.

Britain’s Ben Swift, riding for Team Sky, had to change his bike and finished out of contention.

Germany’s Simon Geschke won the bunch sprint for second, crossing 10 seconds after Rogers, and Enrico Battaglin of Italy finished third with the same time.

It was the first Grand Tour stage victory for 34-year-old Rogers, who rides for Tinkoff-Saxo.

He said: “It was a great opportunity for me and I was able to take advantage of it.

“It was a spur of the moment decision. I saw on top of the climb that all the contenders were looking at each other, and the possibility opened up and I took it.”

Evans’s 57-second lead over Rigoberto Uran remained unchanged as they entered Thursday’s 41.9km individual time trial from Barbaresco to Barolo.

Stage 11

1. Michael Rogers (Aus/Tinkoff) 5hrs 48min 07secs

2. Simon Geschke (Ger/Giant) +10″

3. Enrico Battaglin (Ita/Bardiani)

4. Wilco Kelderman (Ndl/Belkin)

5. Gianluca Brambilla (Ital/Omega)

6. Moreno Moser (Ita/Cannondale)

7. Ryder Hesjedal (Can/Garmin)

8. Matteo Rabottini (Ita/Neri Sottoli)

9. Fabio Duarte (Col/Colombia)

10. Alexis Vuillermoz (Fra/AG2R)

Overall Standings

1. Cadel Evans (Aus/BMC) 48hrs 39mins 04secs

2. Rigoberto Uran (Col/Omega) + 57″

3. Rafal Majka (Pol/Tinkoff) + 01’10”

4. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita/AG2R) + 01’20”

5. Steve Morabito (Swi/BMC) +01’31”

6. Fabio Aru (Ita/Astana) +01’39”

7. Wilco Kelderman (Ndl/Belkin) +01’44”

8. Nairo Quintana (Col/Movistar) +01’45”

9. Robert Kiserlovski (Cro/Trek) +01’49”

10. Ivan Basso (Ita/Cannondale) +02’01”

Article source:

Comments are closed.

Johnny’s favourite stores