Sbaragli gives African team stage win

Kristian Sbaragli claimed South African team MTN-Qhubeka’s second Grand Tour stage win in a sprint finish on stage 10 of the Vuelta a Espana.

Britain’s Chris Froome finished in the peloton to remain 78 seconds behind Dutchman Tom Dumoulin, who retained his overall lead following the 146.6km stage from Valencia to Castellon.

Froome moves up a place after team-mate Nicolas Roche lost time in a crash.

“It’s a dream come true,” Sbaragli said after beating Germany’s John Degenkolb.

MTN-Qhubeka’s first Grand Tour victory came at this year’s Tour de France

through British rider Stephen Cummings.

“This team is a growing project,” added Italian Sbaragli. “It’s a victory not just for me and the team, but for the whole of Africa. I’m so happy.”

Giant-Alpecin’s Degenkolb held off Spain’s Jose Joaquin Rojas (Movistar), who took third.

Team Sky’s Tour de France champion Froome is now seventh overall.

After Tuesday’s rest day, Wednesday’s 11th stage is a mountainous 138km race from Andorra la Vella to Cortals d’Encamp.

The 21-stage grand tour finishes in Madrid on 13 September.

Chris Froome

Chris Froome moved up to seventh after his Team Sky team-mate Nicolas Roche lost time on the 10th stage

Stage 10 result:

1. Kristian Sbaragli SBLI (Ita/Team MTN) 3hrs 12mins 43secs

2. John Degenkolb (Ger/Giant) All same time

3. Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa/Movistar)

4. Tosh van der Sande (Bel/Lotto)

5. Jose Goncalves (Spa/ Caja Rural)

6. Matteo Montaguti (Ita/AG2R)

7. Jens Keukeleire (Bel/Orica GreenEDGE)

8. Daryl Impey Daryl (SA/Orica GreenEDGE)

9. Pieter Serry (Bel/ Etixx Quick-Step)

10. Valerio Conti (Ita/Lampre)

General classification after stage 10:

1. Tom Dumoulin (Ned/Giant) 38hrs 34mins 56secs

2. Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa/Katusha) +57secs

3. Esteban Chaves (Col/Orica) +59secs

4. Fabio Aru (Ita/Astana) +1min 13secs

5. Alejandro Valverde (Spa/Movistar) +1min 17secs

6. Nairo Quintana (Col/Movistar) +1min 17secs

7. Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky) +1min 18secs

8. Rafal Majka (Pol/Tinkoff – Saxo) +1min 47secs

9. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita/AG2R) +1min 52secs

10. Mikel Nieve (Ita/Team Sky) +2mins 17secs

Article source:

Comments are closed.

Johnny’s favourite stores