Viviani takes European title after Lambrecht tribute

The Belgian team pay tribute to Bjorg Lambrecht

Bjorg Lambrecht’s compatriots lined up together to pay tribute after his tragic death last week

A minute’s silence was held before the European Road Championships to pay tribute to Bjorg Lambrecht.

The Belgian cyclist died last week aged 22 following a crash during stage three of the Tour de Pologne.

The Belgium team led the tribute at the 172.6km event, won by Italy’s Elia Viviani in three hours 30.52 minutes.

Belgium’s Yves Lampaert crossed one second behind in the Dutch city of Alkmaar, with Germany’s Pascal Ackermann seven seconds further back.

The women’s event was won by the Netherlands’ Amy Pieters, ahead of Italy’s Elena Cecchini and Germany’s Lisa Klein, with Great Britain’s Alice Barnes fifth.


Elia Viviani pointed to the sky as he beat Yves Lampaert to the line

Article source:

Women’s Tour of Scotland: Canada’s Alison Jackson wins stage two

Women's Tour of Scotland

The riders started stage two at George Square in Glasgow

Alison Jackson won a sprint finish to claim the first-ever stage victory on the Women’s Tour of Scotland.

The Canadian Team Tibco-SVB rider clocked 3:24:37 to edge out America’s Emma White and Stine Borgli of Norway in a thrilling end to the 139.4km route from Glasgow to Perth.

Jen George finished as the best-placed Scot in 13th.

Friday’s opening stage, from Dundee to Dunfermline, of the inaugural race was abandoned because of bad weather.

“It was all just heart and desire and wanting to win for the team,” Jackson said. “It’s really exciting to have the first leader’s jersey in the first tour of Scotland. Tomorrow we’re going to try to win the day and keep the yellow jersey.”

The race ends on Sunday with a 118.3km stage three starting and finishing in Edinburgh via the Borders.

Article source:

‘Extreme weather’ sees first stage of Women’s Tour of Scotland cancelled midway through

The sodden Women's Tour peloton

The first stage of the inaugural event was abandoned after heavy rain

The first stage of the maiden Women’s Tour of Scotland was abandoned because of “extreme weather conditions”.

The decision was taken two hours into the race following heavy rain on the Dundee to Dunfermline route.

Stage two is due to commence on Saturday, with the 16 teams riding from Glasgow to Perth, while the event concludes in Edinburgh on Sunday.

A statement from the organisers said the course was no longer safe, with “heavy sections of standing water”.

“Due to extreme weather conditions we have taken the unfortunate decision – together with Police Scotland and the other relevant authorities – to abandon today’s stage,” it continued.

“Rider safety is paramount and conditions were no longer safe to continue.”

Sprint classifications and Queen of the Mountains points winners will still be presented in Dunfermline.

Article source:

Tour de France champion Egan Bernal given hero’s welcome in Colombia

Colombia's Tour de France winner Egan Bernal waves as he rides his bike upon his arrival in his hometown Zipaquira, Cundinamarca, Colombia

Image copyright

The Colombian city of Zipaquirá has welcomed home local hero Egan Bernal, 10 days after he won the Tour de France.

Last month the 22-year-old became the first Colombian to win cycling’s most prestigious race – and its youngest champion in 110 years.

Thousands of people gathered in the town’s central square as early as 05:00.

His return also coincided with a national holiday – the 200th anniversary of Colombia’s victory against Spain in the Battle of Boyacá.

A child plays a vuvuzela at the homecoming party for Egan Bernal

Image copyright

“I’ll never forget seeing so many people gathered for me,” Bernal told his fans.

“When I see you there, I’m only just starting to realise what this meant for Colombia.

“It makes me very proud to be able to give something to society and to give Colombia hope.”

Children waited on the town's central square to try and see their new hometown hero

Image copyright

Bernal landed in the capital, Bogotá, on Monday. He had been competing in a series of shorter races in Europe that followed his Tour de France win.

Fans hold a sign that reads You made millions of hearts shake with happiness. What an example, Egan! during a tribute to Colombian cyclist Egan Bernal, winner of the Tour de France 2019, at his hometown, Zipaquira, in Cundinamarca, Colombia

Image copyright

He turned down the offer of a parade through Zipaquirá, opting instead for a more modest stage in the town’s central square.

There, he paid tribute to his first coach Fabio Rodriguez, and showed his white jersey – won for being the best young rider in the Tour.

Colombian cyclist Egan Bernal, winner of the Tour de France 2019, poses with his first coach Fabio Rodriguez (L) during a tribute celebrated at his hometown, Zipaquira, in Cundinamarca, Colombia

Image copyright

Bernal also held up his yellow jersey worn by Tour de France champions.

Colombia's Egan Bernal shows the yellow jersey that accredits him as champion of the Tour de France

Image copyright

He donated his yellow jersey to the Colombian Cycling Federation, and gave his white one to Mr Rodriguez.

Crowds line the streets of Zipaquira to catch a glimpse of Egan Bernal

Image copyright

“It was my dream to win the Tour de France, and now I’ve done it,” Bernal said. “I’m not sure I’ll be able to win it again.”

People make selfies with a mural depicting Colombia's Tour de France winner Egan Bernal after arrival in his hometown Zipaquira, Cundinamarca, Colombia

Image copyright

All images copyright

Article source:

Lambrecht suffered ‘liver laceration and cardiac arrest’ in fatal crash

Bjorg Lambrecht

Bjorg Lambrecht was regarded as one of Belgium’s most promising riders

Belgian cyclist Bjorg Lambrecht died after a lacerated liver led to internal bleeding and a cardiac arrest following his crash at the Tour de Pologne.

The 22-year-old died in hospital on Monday after crashing 60 miles into stage three of the event in Poland.

In a statement, his Lotto-Soudal team doctor Maarten Meirhaeghe said: “Bjorg died from a big liver laceration which caused a massive internal haemorrhage.

“As a consequence, Bjorg suffered a cardiac arrest.”

He added: “Bjorg had the biggest stroke of bad luck that was possible by the way he crashed. With such internal hemorrhages, a miracle is needed, a miracle which he wasn’t given.

“The place and the time did not influence the consequences. Even if such trauma would have happened inside a hospital, chances of a bad outcome are real.”

Race director Czeslaw Lang said on Monday that Lambrecht died during an operation in hospital.

Tuesday’s fourth stage of the race saw a moment of silence held at the start and finish of the stage, while Lambrecht’s Lotto Soudal team led the peloton to the finish in Kocriez as a mark of respect.

Lambrecht was riding in his second season at the top level of professional cycling and had been regarded as one of Belgium’s most promising riders.

He won the under-23s’ version of the Liege-Bastogne-Liege race in 2017 and finished second in the U23 World Championships last year.

Article source:

Johnny’s favourite stores