Tour de Yorkshire host towns revealed

Riders in BeverleyImage copyright
Visit Yorkshire

Image caption

More than 140 riders covered 500km (310 miles) in the first Tour de Yorkshire race in May

Six towns have been selected to start or finish a stage of the 2016 Tour de Yorkshire cycle race.

Beverley, Doncaster, Middlesbrough, Otley, Scarborough and Settle have all been chosen and the exact route will be announced in December.

The three-day men’s race will start on 29 April, with a women’s race held on Saturday 30 April.

The event was held for the first time in May this year and was watched by an estimated 1.2m people.

It was established after Yorkshire hosted the Tour de France Grand Depart in 2014.

The event organisers, Welcome to Yorkshire, said it had received 14 expressions of interest from towns wanting to host a start or finish 2016 event.

The inaugural men’s race was won by Norwegian Lars-Petter Nordhaug for Team Sky.

More than 140 riders took part in the 500km (310 miles) race, including Olympic champion and Tour de France winner Sir Bradley Wiggins.

Article source:

Comments are closed.

Johnny’s favourite stores