Trott leads Wiggle-Honda to team win


Olympic champion Laura Trott

helped Wiggle-Honda to the team pursuit title on the first day of the British Cycling National Track Championships.

Trott and team-mates Dani King, Joanna Rowsell and Elinor Barker beat a Pearl Izumi team featuring world champion Katie Archibald and Dame Sarah Storey.

In the men’s team pursuit final, 100% ME beat NFTO Pro Cycling to the gold.

Double world champions

Sophie Thornhill and pilot Rachel James

claimed the BVI mixed time trial title.

Newport Youth Velo’s Lauren Booth won the para-cycling C1-5 mixed time trial.

Victory in the team pursuit was sweet for a Wiggle Honda quartet which featured three reigning world champions in the discipline in Trott, Barker and Rowsell.

They defeated Pearl Izumi with a time of 4:24.903 over four kilometres at the National Cycling Centre in Manchester.

“There is some good friendly rivalry between Wiggle Honda and Pearl Izumi so it was a good competition,” said Rowsell.

“We knew they would go faster in the final so we weren’t sure how we would go. We knew it would be a good race and we’re pleased we won it.”

The championships are likely to be the last time that Olympic and world champions Trott and Rowsell ride together with Wiggle-Honda.

Trott, 22, is

moving to Matrix Fitness Vulpine team for 2015

as lead rider and 25-year-old Rowsell is joining Archibald at Pearl Izumi.

Rowsell, who won individual pursuit gold at this summer’s Commonwealth Games,

criticised British Cycling

this week for not entering a rider in the women’s time trial at cycling’s World Road Championships in Spain.

Sir Bradley Wiggins

won the men’s event.

The British Cycling National Track Championships in Manchester runs until Sunday 28 September.

Article source:

Comments are closed.

Johnny’s favourite stores