Vuelta a Espana: Froome maintains lead as Trentin wins

Chris Froome

Chris Froome had a trouble free day after the drama of Thursday, when he lost time after crashing twice

Britain’s Chris Froome finished seventh and maintained his lead in the overall standings as Matteo Trentin won stage 13 of the Vuelta a Espana.

The Team Sky rider, who lost time on stage 12 after he crashed twice, retains a 59-second lead over Italian Vincenzo Nibali.

Trentin easily won the final sprint and the Quick-Step Floors rider has now won three stages in this year’s Vuelta.

Team Sky’s Gianni Moscon was second and Sunweb’s Soren Kragh Anderson third.

Italian Trentin has dominated the few sprint stages on what is a largely mountainous three-week trek around Spain.

He also won stages four and 10 and his Quick-Step team have now won five stages in total in this year’s Vuelta.

“It’s amazing, I came to this race with confidence but never expected anything like this,” said Trentin.

“For the team the Vuelta is not finished and we are betting for more.”

Froome is aiming to become just the third rider to win the Tour de France and Vuelta in the same year.

He is also bidding to be the first Briton to win the Spanish race, which is the third of the year’s three grand tours along with the Tour de France and the Giro d’Italia.

Saturday sees the riders tackle a mountainous 175km stage from Ecija to Sierra de La Pandera.

  • Vuelta a Espana stage-by-stage guide

Stage 13 result

1. Matteo Trentin (Ita/Quick-Step Floors) 4hrs 25mins 13secs

2. Gianni Moscon (Ita/Team Sky) same time

3. Soren Kragh (Den/Team Sunweb) same time

4. Michael Schwarzmann (Ger/ BORA-hansgrohe) same time

5. Tom Van Asbroeck (Bel/Cannondale-Drapac) same time

6. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita/Bahrain-Merida) same time

7. Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky) same time

8. Wilco Kelderman (Ned/Team Sunweb) same time

9. Alberto Contador (Spa/Trek-Segafredo) same time

10. Nicolas Roche (Irl/BMC Racing Team) same time

Overall standings after Stage 13

1. Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky) 53hrs 48mins 06secs

2. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita/Bahrain-Merida) +59secs

3. Esteban Chaves (Col/Orica-Scott) +2mins 13secs

4. Wilco Kelderman (Ned/Team Sunweb) +2mins 17secs

5. David De La Cruz (Spa/Quick-Step Floors) +2mins 23secs

6. Ilnur Zakarin (Rus/Katusha-Alpecin) +2mins 25secs

7. Fabio Aru (Ita/Astana Pro Team) +2mins 37secs

8. Michael Woods (Can/Cannondale-Drapac) +2mins 41secs

9. Alberto Contador (Spa/Trek-Segafredo) +3mins 13secs

10. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col/Astana Pro Team) +3mins 58secs

Article source:

Comments are closed.

Johnny’s favourite stores