Wiggins leads Sky in Tour of Britain

Olympic champion Sir Bradley Wiggins will lead Team Sky in the Tour of Britain, which begins on 15 September in the Scottish Borders.

The 33-year-old said last month that he will

leave road racing at the end of next season

to return to the track and pursue a fifth Olympic medal in 2016.

He is joined in the squad by Ian Stannard, Josh Edmondson, Bernhard Eisel, Mathew Hayman and David Lopez.

Last year’s winner,

Jonathan Tiernan-Locke, was not selected.

Tour of Britain schedule

Stage 1, 15 Sept:

Peebles-Drumlanrig Castle

Stage 2, 16 Sept:

Carlisle to Kendal

Stage 3, 17 Sept:

Knowsley Safari Park

Stage 4, 18 Sept:

Stoke-on-Trent to Llanberis

Stage 5, 19 Sept:

Machynlleth to Caerphilly

Stage 6, 20 Sept:

Sidmouth to Haytor

Stage 7, 21 Sept:

Epsom racecourse to Guildford

Stage 8, 22 Sept:

Whitehall, London

Wiggins, who was

unable to defend his Tour de France title

this summer because of illness and injury,

withdrew from last year’s Tour of Britain

with a stomach bug.

He hopes this year’s race will benefit his preparations for the individual time trial at the Road World Championships in Florence on 25 September.

“It’s a race I’m fond of and it’s nice to see it growing,” Wiggins said.

“The crowds and the roads make it special and it’s always very humbling to see the fantastic support that we get from the public.

“I’m coming into the race feeling really good. It finishes in close proximity to the world time trial championships, which is my main late-season goal.

“The Tour of Britain is always a tough event and I’m looking forward to getting started.”

There are eight stages in this year’s race, taking the riders to Peebles, Cumbria, Knowsley, Stoke-on-Trent, Wales, Devon and Surrey before the finish at Whitehall in London on 22 September.

Article source: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/cycling/23971905

Comments are closed.

Johnny’s favourite stores