Wiggins & Trott in squad for Euros

British Cycling have named Sir Bradley Wiggins and Laura Trott in their squad for the European Track Cycling Championships, held from 14-18 October.

Ed Clancy misses the Switzerland event

through injury,

while Becky James is rested as she continues her comeback following a long-term knee injury.

Double Olympic gold medallist Trott is a seven-time European champion, while Wiggins won three Olympic track golds.

“It’s good for the squad he is going,” said technical director Shane Sutton.

“He’s won it all. We’ve selected a strong squad. With the Olympic Games in Rio less than a year away, it’s a great opportunity to secure some vital qualifying points.

“We saw some really promising performances at the British Cycling National Track Championships and the Europeans provide a good chance to put the talent out there and pit themselves against the best in the world.”

Great Britain team for the European Track Cycling Championships:

Laura Trott, Katie Archibald, Jo Rowsell-Shand, Elinor Barker, Ciara Horne, Katy Marchant, Vicky Williamson, Jess Varnish, Philip Hindes, Matt Crampton, Jason Kenny, Lewis Oliva, Sir Bradley Wiggins, Owain Doull, Steven Burke, Andy Tennant, Matt Gibson, Chris Latham, Ollie Wood, Jon Dibben

Article source: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/cycling/34444322

Comments are closed.

Johnny’s favourite stores